What is cultural capital?

Academically, cultural capital is defined as “forms of knowledge, both tangible and intangible, that have value in a given society in relation to status and power.” However, I would like to offer a more practice-oriented definition of cultural capital: the rules for engaging other types of capital (human, economic, social).

Cultural capital defines how people (human) engage each other (social) and their resources (economic). Whether the culture of an organization is good or bad – cultural capital is created when values, traditions, beliefs and language become the currency to leverage other types of capital.

For actionable leaders, cultural capital is the most important type of capital. It is the difference between creating an environment to maintain the status quo or building the foundation for making change.

6 Responses to “What is cultural capital?”

  1. Sophie Says:

    you really helped me for my AS Communication and Culture studies research.

  2. Tim Says:

    It was hard to find a definition in simple terms before now. Thank you, you’ve helped me with my AS Sociology exam on education. 🙂

  3. spazz2129 Says:

    Can you please tell me what the difference is between cultural capital and habitus? I can’t find a discernible line between the two.

    Thank you.

  4. Agnes Maguga Says:

    You really deserve big up! Your definition is of help to me as a student.

    Thanks a lot.

Leave a comment